Le Mans 24H Moto: Final Results

Posted: 18th April 2017

GMT94 win – Yamaha One Two in EWC – Beaujolais win SST - Metiss win EXP – No Limits Ducati win STW - Fastest laps set in final hours – 37 Finishers – 860 Laps for the winners...

The 2017 Le Mans 24 Hour motorcycle races has been won by GMT94 Yamaha, finishing just 19.819 seconds ahead of YART Yamaha after 24 hours and 860 laps of close racing and 26 pit stops. Both these two teams set their fastest in the closing hours of the race as they fought to take and hold an advantage at the head of the field. GMT94 put in a time of 1:36.667 on lap 718 and YART recorded a time of 1:36.592 on lap 707.

GMT94 Yamaha, winners of Le Mans 24 Hour motorcycle race

The fastest lap of the race was set by eventual third placed team SRC Kawasaki with a time of 1:36.408. They finished 12 laps behind the leading pair but just 44.678 seconds ahead of fourth placed SERT Suzuki. FCC TSR Honda was fourth, five laps behind SERT, and fifth place overall went to the SuperStock class winner, Tati Team Beaujolais Kawasaki a further 6 laps behind. Tati Team also took the Dunlop trophy for independent teams.

Metiss won the Experimental class after their only competitors TTS Excent blew their gearbox and were forced to retire. No Limits Ducati won the SuperTwin class in a similar manner after Ducati Esprit Team retired.

Sole British team Honda Endurance Racing finished in 11th place overall, seventh in class, after climbing back from last place after their Fireblade's chain jumped the sprockets on the line and they were forced to pit a second time shortly afterwards.

Girls Racing Team celebrated the FIM's Women in Motorcycling campaign by finishing in 30th place overall, 15th in class.

The team recording the fewest pit stops during the race was Zuff Racing Team, with their Honda only pitting 24 times compared to the leaders' 26 stops.

Full results here: www.fimewc.com/../24H17_RaceFinal.pdf

Update on championship points coming soon....

Words: Martin Gelder, Photos: FIM EWC