Oschersleben 8H: Championship Points

Posted: 22nd May 2017

FIM EWC: SERT hold onto lead, GMT94 up to second – Race24 Trophy: GMT94 take lead, SERT slip to second – Hertrampf Racing Ducati dominate SuperTwins class

FIM EWC Official Championship

SERT Suzuki are holding onto the lead in the official FIM EWC classification with GMT94 Yamaha moving up to second place and YART Yamaha rising up to fourth as SRC Kawasaki slip back to third place as a result of their absence from Oschersleben.

Click here for the EWC Endurance World Championship team standings
Click here for the SuperStock Endurance World Cup team standings
Click here for the SuperTwins Endurance World Cup team standings

We finally have a team to score points in the SuperTwins class; step forward Hertrampf Racing Ducati, currently holding first place in a class of one.

Race24 Trophy

In the Race24 Trophy, which only awards points for the finishing positions in races rather than at intermediate points, GMT94 have moved into first place in the standings, seven points ahead of ahead of SERT Suzuki. SRC Kawasaki have slipped to third, with Maco Racing moving up to fourth and YART up to sixth.

Click here for the totally unofficial Race24 Trophy standings

Why Are We Doing This?

The FIM Endurance World Championship points allocation for 24 hour races is far from simple, with additional bonus points awarded to teams based on their position in the race after 8 and 16 hours. Together with the additional points awarded for races with a duration of longer than 8 hours, this massively favours the French 24 Hour race over the other events in the championship, at Oschersleben, Slovakiaring and Suzuka.

The maximum points available to the winner of an 8 Hour race is 30. The winner of a 24 Hour race is awarded 40 points for finishing the race in first place, plus a potential further 10 points for leading after 8 hours and another potential 10 points for leading after 16 hours.

Win an 8 Hour, get 30 points. 
Win a 24 hour, get 60 points. 
Lead a 24 hour race briefly at 8 and 16 hours then fail to finish, get 20 points.

It will be interesting to see the effect these bonus points have on the overall championship, so we'll be calculating our own championship rankings based on the positions of those teams that finish without adding the bonus points. We're including both EWC and SST teams in the same list because fifth place is fifth place regardless of who finishes in front of you.

Words: Martin Gelder