Suzuka 8H: Final Championship Points

Posted: 22nd May 2017

GMT94 Yamaha win FIM Endurance World Championship by 9.5 points from SERT Suzuki, with YART Yamaha third and FCC TSR Honda fourth - Unofficial Race24 Trophy has same top four but puts Maco Racing Yamaha fifth ahead of SRC Kawasaki

FIM EWC Official Championship

The FIM Endurance World Championship has been won by GMT94 Yamaha with a 9.5 point advantage over second placed SERT Suzuki. YART Yamaha were third, just six points behind SERT. SRC Kawasaki managed fifth place despite only competing in two of the championship's race, both in France.

Click here for the EWC Endurance World Championship team standings
Click here for the SuperStock Endurance World Cup team standings
Click here for the SuperTwins Endurance World Cup team standings

Race24 Trophy

In the Race24 Trophy, which only awards points for the finishing positions in races rather than at intermediate points, the top four positions were the same but Maco Racing Yamaha were placed fifth overall, Tati Team Beaujolais moved from ninth to seventh, and Bolliger Kawasaki sneaked ahead of the Suzuka winning Yamaha Factory Racing.

We believe that performance across the whole season should count more than just results in the 24 hour races, and particularly the 'mid-race' points awarded for those races.

Click here for the totally unofficial Race24 Trophy standings

Why Are We Doing This?

The FIM Endurance World Championship points allocation for 24 hour races is far from simple, with additional bonus points awarded to teams based on their position in the race after 8 and 16 hours. Together with the additional points awarded for races with a duration of longer than 8 hours, this massively favours the French 24 Hour race over the other events in the championship, at Oschersleben, Slovakiaring and Suzuka.

The maximum points available to the winner of an 8 Hour race is 30. The winner of a 24 Hour race is awarded 40 points for finishing the race in first place, plus a potential further 10 points for leading after 8 hours and another potential 10 points for leading after 16 hours.

Win an 8 Hour, get 30 points. 
Win a 24 hour, get 60 points. 
Lead a 24 hour race briefly at 8 and 16 hours then fail to finish, get 20 points.

It will be interesting to see the effect these bonus points have on the overall championship, so we'll be calculating our own championship rankings based on the positions of those teams that finish without adding the bonus points. We're including both EWC and SST teams in the same list because fifth place is fifth place regardless of who finishes in front of you.

Words: Martin Gelder